The Landry Award 2016 Coach Of The Year - Brian Brazil

"The Landry Award Coach of the Year, is presented to a coach who exemplifies the Christian values that defined Tom Landry on and off the field. A coach’s job is first about teaching life skills and molding young lives. They are shaping young people into the leaders of tomorrow. So many coaches in North Texas donate their time to be more than just a coach to kids. They are father figures, friends and, most of all, role models. They nurture them with unconditional love and turn them into the kind of adults that today’s world needs.

     The Landry Award Coach of the Year, selected by Greater Dallas Fort Worth FCA leadership and The Landry Award voting panel, is one who encourages leadership, selflessness, maturity, respect and kindness.

     The 2016 Landry Award Coach of the Year is Brian Brazil of Hebron High School. The other finalists were Bob Estes (Woodrow Wilson), Kody Groves (Mesquite Poteet), Chris Melson (Mansfield Legacy) and Marty Secord (Frisco Wakeland).

2015: Randy Jackson, Grapevine
2014: Randy Allen, Highland Park
2013: Joe McBride, Coppell

     The Landry Coach of the Year Award was created by CBS 11 and TXA 21 in partnership with the Greater Dallas/Fort Worth Fellowship of Christian Athletes’ Character and Leadership Initiative highlighting the “One Way 2 Play – Drug Free” program. The Landry Coach of the Year Award is presented by Raising Cane’s."  

The 2016 award was presented on Monday, December 12 at The Hope Center in Plano. CBS 11’s Bill Jones and TXA 21’s LaDarrin McLane hosted the ceremony, which will be broadcast on Friday, December 30 at 6:30 p.m. on CBS 11.